Three new members elected to CFHZ Board of Trustees in 2021

The Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area’s Board of Trustees recently elected three new members. Scott Brooks, Erin Zylman, and Lydia Steeby were all elected during the Board’s 2021 annual meeting.

Scott Brooks is President of Brooks Capital Management and CEO of Liv Communities – a residential hospitality company that develops, owns, and operates multifamily and senior living communities. Scott serves as Board Chair for Lakeshore Advantage and enjoys serving on Advisory Boards for numerous organizations and efforts ensuring the continued outstanding quality of life enjoyed in the Holland/Zeeland community. In addition to his leadership on the board, Scott will serve as a member of the Investment Committee.







Erin Zylman is a financial advisor and Certified Financial Planner with Edward Jones Investments who has lived and served in the Holland community for 14 years. Erin has worked in the financial services industry for 20 years with a diverse retail, institutional, and investment management background. Erin is a board member for the Greater Ottawa County United Way, a UW Community Panel Member, a board member for Resilience, a member of Women of Color Who Give, and serves as the Diversity and Inclusion Leader for her local Edward Jones region. In addition to her leadership on the board, Erin serves as a member of the Development Committee.




Lydia Steeby is a senior at Holland High School and serves as the Board’s youth trustee. She has been a member of the Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) since 2019 and will serve as Chair of YAC for the 2021–2022 school year. Along with her role in YAC, Lydia enjoys participating in Varsity Swimming, Basketball, and Soccer, and volunteers through the National Honors Society.






In addition, a new slate of officers for the Board of Trustees was also elected during the Board’s annual meeting.

Deborah Sterken will serve as Board Chair. She succeeds Jim Bishop, who held the position of Chair in 2020. Deborah joined the Board in May 2016.

Diane Kooiker will serve as Chair-Elect. Diane joined the Board in May 2016. She is the co-owner of Agritek Industries Inc. and the Director of Herrick District Library in Holland.

Tom Den Herder will serve as Secretary; and Mark Harder will continue to serve as Treasurer.